The Jetty at Edithburgh is well deserving of its reputation as a diving paradise. It can be enjoyed by divers and snorkelers alike who are looking to observe the diverse marine life including big-bellied seahorses, Port Jackson sharks, leafy sea dragons, fish and corals that can be found around the jetty pylons.
Tracing the history of this area and the town from its early settlement, its decline, maritime history and salt industry the Edithburgh Museum takes us back in time with detailed and well defined displays.
Edith Street, Edithburgh, South Australia 5583
Telephone: +61 (08) 8801 9450
Mobile +61 468 331 843
The Bakehouse Arts and Crafts
Local arts and crafts are well represented at The Bakehouse Arts and Crafts shop which is now situated in the Museum grounds. Jams, pickles and sauces sit alongside pottery, ceramics, toys, baby clothes, cards, art and so much more to ensure that shopping for a gift or souvenir is an easy and enjoyable experience.
Telephone: +61 08 8852 8204
DJ Lewis Studio Gallery
Edith Street, Edithburgh, South Australia 5583
Telephone: 0456 634 012
The gallery, in the town’s main street, has been 10 years in the planning. Versatile artist Darryl James Lewis and his wife Pauline decided Edithburgh would be the perfect place to showcase Darryl’s extensive work and to enjoy semi-retirement.
For family’s visiting Edithburgh the playground provides welcome and endless fun for children of all ages. Well designed equipment and sand play with plenty of shade and excellent facilities make it a great spot to bring a picnic or cook a barbeque. Fun for all ages is available with basketball and tennis courts and the adjacent oval ensures the opportunity to kick the footy and work off your picnic or barbeque lunch.
Edithburgh’s unique Tidal pool is an icon of the Yorke Peninsula providing a safe and protected haven from the waves and adding yet another opportunity to enjoy the water in Edithburgh. The pool refills daily with the tidal motions of the Gulf St Vincent waters and is a popular and inviting place right through the warmer months. Sure to prove a hit with anyone visiting the town and simply sensational for children.
A large section of the town centre is taken up by the 17.5 hectare Edithburgh Native Flora Park (easily accessible two blocks to the west of the shoreline) which has stands of eucalypt, acacia, melaleuca and casuarina, over 1,000 native plants, and is home to parrots, larks, quail and honeyeaters. There are 2.41 km of walks through the park.
Clan Ranald Anchor
Edith Street Median Strip
Built in England in 1900, the SS Clan Ranald was a 108-metre-long steel-hulled turret deck ship.
It arrived in Australia in mid January 1909 and took on a cargo of wheat, flour and coal to transport to South Africa. The ship left Adelaide on January 31 but within hours had lurched onto its starboard side and began taking in water. Its lifeboats were smashed by rough seas which drove it towards Troubridge Hill, south-west of Edithburgh where it capsized and sank with the loss of 40 of the 64 souls on board.
The victims were buried at the Edithburgh Cemetery and the graves remain today as the largest legal mass grave in Australia.
The wreck still lies about 700 metres off the coast near Troubridge Hill, in 20 metres of water.
The SS Clan Ranald’s three-tonne anchor was recovered by fishermen in 1974 and put on display on a cliff top overlooking the wreck site. In 1995, a conservation expert from the Western Australian Museum examined the anchor and found it was badly corroded and would not remain intact for more than another 10 years.
The anchor was then transported to Adelaide and slowly restored. After 14 years of restoration work, the anchor was returned to Edithburgh in June 2015. It proudly is on display on the median strip in Edith Street.
The conservation treatment of the anchor was funded by the Commonwealth National Historic Shipwreck Program and the Edithburgh Progress Association, with other support from the South Australian Government.
Edithburgh Golf Course
Making the most of its fabulous location the Edithburgh Golf Course is situated right in the town and the 9 hole course stretches out to the ocean and back. This great little course has a couple of gems of holes, is open from dawn to dusk and welcomes visitors. The nine holes and greens course has a par of 71, is 5598 metres long and has an ACR of 67.
Yorketown Road, Edithburgh, South Australia, 5583
Telephone: +61 08 8852 6333
Troubridge Hill Lighthouse
Special wedge shaped clay bricks were custom made to build this unusual lighthouse. It is designed to be resistant to high winds and earthquakes, as in the early 1900’s the area experienced numerous earthquakes.
Measuring 32 metres high, Troubridge Hill Lighthouse has a light range of 22 nautical miles and operates off mains electricity with a backup generator.
Troubridge Island Lighthouse
The second lighthouse to be built in South Australia, Troubridge Island lighthouse was completed in 1855 and was the first Australian lighthouse to be built of cast iron. After the ship ‘Marion’ was wrecked on what is now known as Marion Reef, the Government investigated building a lighthouse on Troubridge Island.
The lighthouse was prepared in England and shipped in pieces to Australia and was manned from 1856 to 1981. The island became a conservation park in 1982 when purchased for AUD$42,000 by the State Government.
Troubridge Island Conservation Park
An ideal environment for bird enthusiasts. This fragile sand island is an important breeding area for birds and is home to a large colony of little penguins, black-faced cormorants and crested terns. Only accessible by boat, once you’ve reached this peaceful island, take in its beauty by fishing or swimming along the white sandy beaches.
Stay on the island for a few nights in the original lighthouse keeper’s cottage. The heritage-listed cottage accommodation has all the modern conveniences you need for an idyllic escape from city life.
Troubridge Island is accessible by permit only. Permits are available from the Innes National Park office or Troubridge Island Escape – Mark and Lois Petersons 08 8889 2002 or email@example.com.
Troubridge Island Escape
Troubridge Shoal is about six kilometres east south east of Edithburgh at the “heel” of Yorke Peninsula in South Australia. The Shoal and Peninsula were named after the Lord of the Admiralty Sir Edward Troubridge by Matthew Flinders in 1802.
The Shoal is dangerously located along the major shipping route to Port Adelaide. The first wreck was the Dart in 1838. Many more ships were wrecked and this lead to the construction of the lighthouse and keeper cottages. The light was permanently lit in January 1856.
The deserted cottages surrounded by white sandy beaches now have all the comforts of home and can be booked for an unique and unforgettable stay. The Island is a breeding paradise for Crested and Caspian Terns, Fairy Penguins and Pied Cormorants. When the boat arrives from Edithburgh (a 15 minute trip), thousands of resident birds leave their nesting places unsure of the strangers approaching their island.
Mullet, tommies or flathead can be caught right off the beach and as the light keepers have done in the past you can enjoy a meal of fresh fish cooked in your historic cottage.
Troubridge Island Escape can accommodate 12 people. There are six double and two single beds.
For Troubridge Island Escape information or bookings, please contact Mark and Lois Petersons
Telephone: + 61 08 8889 2002.
The Coobowie estuary is home to a fascinating array of birdlife. Nestled at the edge is a wonderful bird hide to enable you to watch our feathered friends go about their business.
Arm yourself with a complementary brochure available from Coobowie Caravan Park or the Coobowie General Store to assist in identification of the species and spend a leisurely few hours in the great outdoors. You can also walk around to Edithburgh via the walking trail.
The Edithburgh Mosaic Walking Trail
The Edithburgh to Sultana Point Walking Trail is part of the “Walk the Yorke Trail”. Trudie Howith, a local artist, had a vision to mosaic the rocks along the foreshore to add interest to the natural beauty of the walk. . There are 96 mosaics in total covering around two kilometres stretching along the walking trail.
Investigator Strait Shipwreck Trail
Discover the shipwrecks of the Investigator Strait Shipwreck Trail which is the stretch of water that lies between southern Yorke Peninsula and Kangaroo Island. Captain Matthew Flinders named it on 27 March 1802 in honour of his ship HMS Investigator.
Between 1849 and 1982, 26 vessels are known to have been wrecked in these waters, with the loss of more than 70 lives. Many of the wrecks are a haven for aquatic life and attract diving enthusiasts from around the world. Six land-based interpretive signs are located along the coastline to assist in the interpretation of the wrecks.
The shipwrecks along the trail were selected for various reasons: the strange and tragic circumstances surrounding their loss; their historical significance or because they provide a fascinating underwater experience for beginners and advanced divers alike. A number of wrecks still await discovery.
The S.S. Clan Ranald forms part of this trail and is the only turret ship to have been lost in Australian waters. The extensive remains of the hull lying upside down provide an impressive sight to any visitor. It has been declared an historic shipwreck under the Historic Shipwrecks Act 1976.